THE ORIGINES

Creation of the ibride house

1996

 In 1996, ibride was born in Fontain, France, from the family trio of Carine Jannin, Rachel and Benoit Convers. From the very beginning, self-edition allowed the design house to create singular and poetic objects inspired by nature and the animal world. 

2000 - 2002

Collaboration with major brands

Soon, ibride acquired new know-how by collaborating with prestigious brands such as Kenzo and Habitat, for which it designs and supplies tableware, lighting and other accessories. 

Return to independance

2008

the design house made a creative shift and put an end to collaborations in order to flourish in independence and free itself from codes.  The two years that followed marked the launch of three collections that had become emblematic.

Innovation

2013

ibride then became aware that innovation was a vector of freedom and invested in a production tool in 2013 to become a manufacturer. The company includes in this new organization the local suppliers and subcontractors with whom it has been working since the beginning.

Projets et collaborations

Since 2018

This operating mode now allows it to address the HoReCa market and carry out tailor-made projects. Recently, several collaboration and editing projects have been carried out, in particular with the famous Thyssen-Bornemisza museum and designer Constance Guisset.

FOUNDERS

Carine Jannin


Advocating the exact opposite of the traditional idea of business, Carine Jannin has made choices that have led the brand along an enlightened path – that of the human. She is not a conventional Company Manager–  even before it was fashionable to establish an open management structure, she encouraged collective intelligence and preferred to empower members of her staff. Behind her, the pack is organized in one and the same movement. To observe Carine Jannin is to note a sincere interest in other people, an unconditional commitment to the design house. It is to realize, even before a single word has been spoken, that sincerity is not an evil defect. It is also to become aware that indeed audacity, authenticity and singularity are always more profitable than opportunism or following trends. It is simply to trust. And that is rare.

Clarico-Text-Image
Clarico-Image-Text

Rachel Convers


She has a certain discretion, a way of behaving that is marked by a profound respect, as if expressing a form of humility before the primacy of the world. Rachel Convers seeks supreme beauty, no doubt knowing that it is unattainable, a quest for perfection that leads her to constantly explore. Whether it be through colour or drawing, she strives to find the spark, the small amount of light, that tiny nothing that will literally give life first to the image and then to the object. Her gesture as a designer has to do with intention, attention, intuition and above all the desire to signify life. Rachel Convers reinterprets, restores and reinvents all forms of a common cultural heritage in order to invite the gaze to turn towards what has come before –  nature, the essence of which we are all made up.
 

Benoît Convers


It takes no more than a few moments of observation to see that music has fulfilled Benoît Convers, giving him a different way of seeing the world. He considers creation as the mother of all questionings, as the conveyor of doubts which will contribute to the improvement of the finished article, as a vector of sensibilities, whether they be his own or those of other people. Each idea bears a meaning which is served by form. “What I love is the moment when ideas come together and blend with one another to make a coherent whole,” he will say. Benoît Convers sets himself restrictions, solves problems, exhausts existing forms to create new ones and, above all, considers design, the conception of objects and their fabrication as a profoundly empathetic discipline. For isn’t the creation of a painting, a text, a song or an object above all making a gesture towards someone? 

Clarico-Text-Image

LES ORIGINES

Création de la maison ibride

1996

 C'est en 1996 à Fontain, en France, qu'ibride est né du trio familial que forme Carine Jannin, Rachel et Benoit Convers. Dès ses débuts, l’auto-édition permet à la maison de créer des objets singuliers et poétiques dont l’essence même réside dans la nature et le monde animal. 

2000 - 2002

Collaboration avec de grandes marques

Rapidement, ibride acquiert de nouveaux savoir-faire en collaborant avec des marques prestigieuses telles que Kenzo et Habitat, pour lesquelles elle dessine et fournit des arts de la table, luminaires et autres accessoires. 

Retour vers l'indépendance

2008

La maison d’édition opère un virage créatif et met fin aux collaborations pour s’épanouir dans l’indépendance et s’affranchir des codes.   Les deux années qui suivent marquent le lancement de trois collections devenues emblématiques.  

Innovation

2013

ibride prend alors conscience que l’innovation est un vecteur de liberté et investit dans un outil de production en 2013 pour devenir fabricant. L’entreprise inclut dans cette nouvelle organisation les fournisseurs et sous-traitants locaux avec lesquels elle travaille depuis le début.  

Projets et collaborations

Depuis 2018

Ce mode de fonctionnement lui permet aujourd’hui de s’adresser au marché HoReCa et de réaliser des projets sur-mesure. Dernièrement, plusieurs projets de collaboration et d’édition ont été réalisés notamment avec le célèbre musée Thyssen-Bornemisza et la designer Constance Guisset.

FONDATEURS

Carine Jannin


À contre-courant d’une certaine idée de l’entreprise, Carine Jannin a porté des choix qui ont emmené la marque sur une voie éclairée : celle de l’humain. Si le terme peut paraître galvaudé, il recèle pourtant l’essence même de la marque. Elle n’est pas une cheffe d’entreprise conventionnelle : avant même qu’il ne soit de bon ton d’instaurer un management horizontal, elle a favorisé l’intelligence collective et préféré responsabiliser. Derrière elle s’organise la meute, d’un seul et même mouvement. Observer Carine Jannin, c’est constater un intérêt non feint porté à l’autre, un engagement sans réserve pour la maison d’édition. C’est savoir, avant même qu’un seul mot n’ait été prononcé, que la sincérité n’est pas un vilain défaut. C’est aussi se dire, que décidément, l’audace, l’authenticité et la singularité sont toujours plus payantes que l’opportunisme ou la tendance. C’est avoir confiance. C’est rare. 

Clarico-Text-Image
Clarico-Image-Text

Rachel Convers


 Il y a chez elle une part de discrétion, une façon d’être empreinte d’un profond respect, comme l’expression d’une forme d’humilité devant la primauté du monde. Rachel Convers cherche la beauté suprême en sachant sans doute qu’elle est inatteignable, une quête de la perfection qui la mène à explorer sans cesse. Que ce soit par la couleur ou par le dessin, elle s’évertue à trouver l’étincelle, le brin de lumière, ce tout petit rien qui littéralement animera l’image puis l’objet. Son geste de designer a trait à l’intention, à l’attention, et à l’intuition et passe avant tout par ce désir de signifier la vie. Rachel Convers réinterprète, restaure et réinvente toutes les formes d’un héritage culturel commun pour inviter le regard à se tourner vers ce qui précède : la nature, l’essence qui nous constitue.

Benoît Convers


Il suffit d’observer Benoît Convers pour comprendre que la musique a accompli l’homme lui transmettant une autre manière de voir le monde. Il envisage la création comme mère de toutes les interrogations, comme porteuse de doutes qui viendront augmenter le produit final, comme vectrice de sensibilités, qu’elles soient siennes ou celles d’autrui. Chaque idée porte un sens que la forme vient servir. «Ce que j’aime, c’est ce moment où les idées s’agrègent les unes aux autres pour former un tout cohérent», dira-t-il. Benoît Convers se pose des contraintes, résout des problèmes, épuise les formes existantes pour en créer de nouvelles et surtout envisage le design, la conception d’objets et leur fabrication, comme une discipline profondément empathique. Car créer une peinture, un texte, une chanson ou un objet n’est-ce pas avant tout adresser un geste à quelqu’un ?

Clarico-Text-Image

To install this Web App in your iPhone/iPad press and then Add to Home Screen.